Institute announces jury for 2022 national awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the jury for the 2022 National Architecture Awards, to be held in November.

The five jurors, Tony Giannone, Caroline Pidcock, Poppy Taylor, Adrian Iredale, and Tim Ross, will be tasked with evaluating and discerning the best in architecture across Australia.

Tony Giannone is the Institute’s immediate past national president, a director at Tectvs in Adelaide and an industry professor at the School of Architecture and Built Environment at the University of Adelaide.

Caroline Pidcock is the director of her practice Pidcock and spokesperson for Australian Architects Declare. She is an industry advocate for the importance of biophilia and regenerative design, and how they can contribute to a richer, fairer and more ecologically restorative future.

Poppy Taylor is the founding director at Taylor and Hinds, which, in 2019, was named one of Domus magazine’s Top 50 international practices. Taylor herself was also named Tasmanian Emerging Architect in 2011, with her work widely published nationally and internationally.

Adrian Iredale is a director at Iredale Pedersen Hook Architects and has participated in Institute juries historically as both a member and as chair. Iredale has made a significant contribution to the profession at state and national levels, and his leadership has sustained a high level of critical discourse and clear advocacy for the impact that quality architecture can have in our community.

Tim Ross is the director of Modernister Films and a renowned comedian, presenter and architecture enthusiast. In 2016  he presented the architecture documentary Streets of Your Town,  which was the most watched arts program on the ABC for the year.

The 2022 National Architecture Awards will be held on 3 November.

Source: Architecture - architectureau

‘Australia’s waterfront to the world’ poised for major revamp

Notches, Scores, and Gouges Add Textured Pattern to Kokemusu Mokkou’s Carved Wooden Creatures