Meet the jury: 2024 Houses Awards

Houses magazine has appointed the jury for its 2024 Houses Awards. Consisting of industry experts in the architecture and design space, these jurors possess sound knowledge of the standards of excellence and measures of quality in the built environment.

Sophie Bence is a founder and co-director of Bence Mulcahy alongside Shamus Mulcahy. Established in 2014 in Hobart, Bence Mulcahy is interested in practising with generosity, finding the potential in projects regardless of scale and budget. The practice has completed a number of awarded projects across residential, education and heritage spaces.

Adam Haddow is a director of SJB, a multi-disciplinary design practice with studios in Sydney and Melbourne. Heading up the Sydney studio, Adam is a specialist architect in the built environment and is interested in what makes cities vibrant, connected and civic with particular expertise in urban density, and the intersection of public and private space.

Marika Neustupny is a founding director of NMBW Architecture Studio and holds a PhD from the University of Queensland. NMBW’s projects have been widely published and exhibited in local, national and international contexts, and awarded numerous times by the Australian Institute of Architects for residential projects.

Lachlan Nielsen is a director of Brisbane-based architecture studio Nielsen Jenkins. The work of the practice explores landscape, subtraction, connections and materiality in order to achieve client-specific outcomes that are responsive to context and place. These explorations form the basis of all of Neilsen Jenkins’ projects.

Chairing the jury will be Alexa Kempton who is the editor of Houses magazine. She has more than 15 years’ experience in architecture and design media, and has been part of the editorial team at Architecture Media for 10 years. Alexa is a former editor of ArchitectureAU and managing editor of Architecture Australia.

Award-winning landscape architect, Simone Bliss of SBLA Studio will be the jury’s garden and landscape advisor; Pippa Soccio, the senior research scientist in building monitoring at CSIRO, will be the sustainability advisor, and Louise Honman, an architect and built heritage specialist, will be the heritage advisor.

Entries for the 2024 Houses Awards can be submitted until 8 March 2024. To enter, visit the Houses Awards website.

Houses Awards are organized by Architecture Media, supported by Cult, Artedomus, Blum, Brickworks, James Hardie, Sussex, The Heritage Council of Victoria, Roca and Latitude.

Source: Architecture - architectureau

Grace Gillespie’s Vibrant Linocut Prints of Flowers and Foliage Tap Into Her Artistic Roots

A Biopic of Painter Maria Lassnig Will Have Its World Premiere at the Berlinale